50 Book Challenge 2017

In 2016, I attempted the 50 Book Challenge for the first time. By the end of December, I had read 52 books – an average of a book per week.

So, I am doing the 50 Book Challenge again this year, but this time around, I am adding some rules for the books I read in order to broaden the spectrum of books I read, and to support under-represented voices in literature.

Here are my rules for my 2017 50 Book Challenge.

  •  At least half of all books must be written by female-identifying people  (F)
  •  At least half of all books must be written by people of colour/non-white people (POC)
  •  At least ten books must be translated works (T)
  •  At least ten books must be non-fiction (NF)
  •  At least ten books must be written by Australian authors (AUS)

I will be keeping a record of all the books I read this year on this page, with the codes above next to the titles, to keep track of how I am going with this challenge, and so you guys can see what I read this year.

I would encourage all the avid readers out there to join me in doing this challenge, and please let me know if you adopt these rules (or a version of them) for your own reading goals this year. I’m curious to see what you end up reading.

50 Book Challenge 2017

  1. Sula by Toni Morrison (F, POC)
  2. Difficult Women by Roxane Gay (F, POC)
  3. The Mothers by Brit Bennett (F, POC)
  4. The Clothing of Books by Jhumpa Lahiri (F, POC, T, NF)
  5. The Last Summer by Ricarda Huch (F, T)
  6. milk and honey by Rupi Kaur (F, POC)
  7. Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari (POC, NF)
  8. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (F, POC)
  9. Stay With Me by Ayobami Adebayo (F, POC)
  10. Dear Ijeawele, or A Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (F, POC, NF)
  11. American War by Omar El Akkad (POC)
  12. We Come Apart by Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan (F)
  13. The Orange Grove by Larry Tremblay (T)
  14. Release by Patrick Ness
  15. Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare (F)
  16. One by Sarah Crossan (F)
Leave a Reply

